to top 10 table

Best Slipper Socks

last updated: Feb 07, 2020

Is there anything quite as comfortable as sliding into a pair of slippers after a long day or, heck, even first thing in the morning before you get out of bed? There is just something inherently cozy about the entire process.

Not everyone can get down with slippers, though. If the thought of shuffling around with slippers on gives you zombie vibes, you might be more inclined to reach for a pair of slipper socks instead. Similar as they may be, these products do have some stark differences over their bigger brother. They’re generally cozier (if you can imagine that) due to the fact that they fit higher up your legs than a traditional slipper. We’ve gone ahead and compiled a list of the ten best options currently available. Let's dive into our top 10 options.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 9 hrs of research

icon
Pembrook Non-Slip
98.4/100 our score
Comfort
99
Size
97
Materials
98
Style
99
Value
99
Pembrook Non-Slip
Why is it better?

Non-skid design

Warm

Can stretch to accommodate most foot sizes

Nice color options

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Pembrook Non-Slip
Test Winner: Pembrook Non-Slip
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
6
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
8k
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
9
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
12
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
Sami Kritz
By Sami Kritz:

After a long day of work (or retirement), a warm pair of slippers is well-deserved. Our newest additions are two pairs from Snoozies. One is geared towards women, and the other towards men, but both have a Sherpa fleece interior. We have also added additional photos of each product and added a new expert tip.

Sorting Options
Comfort Size Materials Style Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.4
Comfort
99 %
Size
97 %
Materials
98 %
Style
99 %
Value
99 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (30.09.20)
Amazon Link
$17.95
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.2
Comfort
97 %
Size
97 %
Materials
96 %
Style
97 %
Value
99 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (30.09.20)
Amazon Link
$17.99
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.4
Comfort
96 %
Size
95 %
Materials
96 %
Style
97 %
Value
98 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (30.09.20)
Amazon Link
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.4
Comfort
96 %
Size
93 %
Materials
95 %
Style
96 %
Value
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (30.09.20)
Amazon Link
$8.99
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.6
Comfort
93 %
Size
95 %
Materials
93 %
Style
97 %
Value
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (30.09.20)
Amazon Link
$24.99
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.6
Comfort
96 %
Size
92 %
Materials
93 %
Style
93 %
Value
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (30.09.20)
Amazon Link
$14.99
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.4
Comfort
92 %
Size
90 %
Materials
93 %
Style
92 %
Value
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (30.09.20)
Amazon Link
$19.99
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.8
Comfort
89 %
Size
88 %
Materials
89 %
Style
90 %
Value
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (30.09.20)
Amazon Link
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.6
Comfort
86 %
Size
87 %
Materials
87 %
Style
89 %
Value
89 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (30.09.20)
Amazon Link
$10.99
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.6
Comfort
86 %
Size
89 %
Materials
86 %
Style
89 %
Value
83 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (30.09.20)
Amazon Link
$39.95

Top 10 Picks

1. Pembrook Non-Slip

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.4
Pembrook Non-Slip Slipper Sock
Pembrook Non-Slip Slipper Sock
Pembrook Non-Slip Slipper Sock
Amazon Link
Comfort
99
Size
97
Materials
98
Style
99
Value
99
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$17.95
Pros:

Non-skid design

Warm

Can stretch to accommodate most foot sizes

Nice color options

Cons:

Some reviewers didn’t like the grippers on the bottom

Do you have a hospital stay coming up or do you know someone who will be in the hospital for the next little while? Do yourself (or your loved one) a favor and nix the uncomfortable socks the hospital will “gift” you by default and purchase a pair of these slipper socks from Pembrook. They’re designed to fill all of the blanks that traditional hospital socks leave wide open – comfortable, easy to care for, cute colors, grippy.

Read more

Comfort

You wouldn’t think that anything with the name ‘hospital’ in the product listing would be designed for comfort, but it is what it is. This option from Pembrook is very comfortable and they sure beat wearing the uncomfortable scratchy blanket wannabe socks that you’ll get in the hospital otherwise.

Size

These socks are very versatile in design. They are very stretchy and should fit most adults. More specifically, men’s sizes up to 11 and women’s up to size 9 will be able to fit into these no problem.

Materials

The Pembrooks are comprised of a chenille material. It’s both high-quality and comfortable. These truly feel like a luxury, especially when you compare them to the other textiles you’re provided in the hospital.

Style

These socks are designed to fit your leg around the mid-calf. The rubber treads on the bottom aid in providing safety and security if you’re testing out your legs after having been down and out for a few hours (or days). They are available in different color combination options black, purple, gray, and pink.

Value

This is a very affordable option. Depending on which combination you choose to order, you will either receive two pairs of socks or six so you’re getting a ton of value for an affordable price tag.

2. World’s Softest

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.2
World’s Softest Slipper Socks
World’s Softest Slipper Socks
World’s Softest Slipper Socks
Amazon Link
Comfort
97
Size
97
Materials
96
Style
97
Value
99
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$17.99
Pros:

Comfortable

Lightweight

Warm

Great design and color options

Cons:

May not be shaped as pictured

A little slippery on certain types of flooring

With a brand name like ‘World’s Softest’, this company has a pretty big reputation to live up to. And…well, they do it. With over 1600 reviews on Amazon, most of them absolutely glowing, the World’s Softest are worth the minuscule investment to own a pair of them. Let’s see what makes them so great.

Read more

Comfort

Take one look at this product and you can just see that these socks are oozing in comfort. The company claims these socks have a ‘luxurious softness’ and they’re right! They have just the right amount of stretch that provides the so sought-after comfort fit.

Size

Current reviews suggest that these socks run a little smaller than your traditional shoe size. There is a size chart on their Amazon listing so we recommend checking in with that prior to purchasing. The company claims these will fit women whose feet are up to size 11.

Materials

These are made with a wonderful acrylic blend that provides a very comfortable luxurious feeling. The top line of the socks will stretch to conform to each individual foot shape, further providing comfort.

Style

Sick of plain old’ boring sock colors? World’ Softest gets it. These slipper socks are available in 11 different color and design options. Whether you’re into black and white polka dots, red and black stripes, pastel chevron, or zebra print, they have you covered. And if you do prefer the aforementioned boring sock colors (sorry), there are options for you too – how about pink, black or brown? When it comes to the shape of these socks, they fit around the ankle of the wearer.

Value

If there is one drawback to this product it is that the price varies so wildly from size to size and style to style. You may end up having to pay double for some designs.

3. Snoozies

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.4
Snoozies Slipper Sock
Snoozies Slipper Sock
Snoozies Slipper Sock
Amazon Link
Comfort
96
Size
95
Materials
96
Style
97
Value
98
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Non-slip grips on the bottom of the socks

Cute and colorful designs

Fluffy interior

Cons:

Not thick enough for some

This comfortable addition is designed for women and features an attractive design and ten different color options. The Sherpa-lined interior is soft and fuzzy, which will keep you warm and comfortable on those harsh winter nights.

Read more

Comfort

Comfort is the name of the game with all of these options and these Snoozies are no exception. The interior is generously lined to provide great warmth on a cold evening, or even from cold tile. There have been a few reviewers who feel that there is not enough padding, but most agree that the comfort is top-notch.

Size

These are available in sizes Small to XL, which will accommodate women’s foot sizes five to twelve. Most reviewers agree that they run true to size but there has been a handful of reviewers who feel that they run slightly small. If you plan to wear them with socks for extra warmth, or if you are in-between sizes, a size up would be advisable.

Materials

The exterior materials are not listed, but it’s all about the interior materials anyways, right?! The warm Sherpa fleece interior is soft, plush, and provides great warmth! This item is machine washable and will not shrink. The bottom of the foot covering is finished with tiny dots that provide grip on slippery floors.

Style

Designed for women, these comfortable foot warmers have a rose-fabric design all over them ( depending on the color you choose) with contrasting white-colored trim. You can choose from ten different colors, ranging from apricot, to lavender, to light blue. This option definitely looks like a pair that should only be worn in the house.

Value

Nothing to complain about here. These are very affordably priced. We love the feminine style, color options, and overall comfort. You shouldn’t think twice before giving these a shot.

4. Dosoni

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.4
Dosoni Slipper Sock
Dosoni Slipper Sock
Dosoni Slipper Sock
Amazon Link
Comfort
96
Size
93
Materials
95
Style
96
Value
97
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$8.99
Pros:

Non-slip bottoms

Provides insulation from cold floors

Don’t feel binding

Work nicely on thicker calves

Cons:

Despite being rated for sizes up to women’s size 10, some reviews suggest they fit too small

This adorable pair from Dosoni is a perfect companion for those long, cold winter nights. They would even make a great companion in your tent when you’re camping outdoors in the chilly weather. Let’s see what else they have to offer.

Read more

Comfort

If you peruse through the reviews of these slipper socks online, you are going to see a couple of keywords that are a common thread throughout nearly all of the reviews. These words are “comfortable” and “warm.”

Size

There is just one size available for these socks. They’re designed to fit women whose feet fall between US sizes five and ten.

Materials

These comfy foot warmers are made with 95% polyester and 5% spandex materials. The interior features very thick fleece which will provide wearers with the utmost warmth and comfort.

Style

With 12 different colors and patterns to choose from, the Dosoni is a perfect choice for people who can be a little indecisive at times. These socks are meant to fit up to the mid-calf to ensure you’re kept extra warm all day long.

Value

The Dosoni is priced competitively with other products on our top ten list. Though you only get one pair, they provide enough comfort and warmth that we had to include them.

5. Pudus

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.6
Pudus Slipper Socks
Pudus Slipper Socks
Pudus Slipper Socks
Amazon Link
Comfort
93
Size
95
Materials
93
Style
97
Value
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$24.99
Pros:

Unisex styles

Have Oprah’s seal of approval

Cute design options

Washes well

Cons:

May take some time to wear in

These socks are built a little bit different than other options on our list, so we had to include them to give a wide variety of options. These animal-friendly socks come from a Canadian family-run business and might be exactly what you’re looking for. Not to mention that these adorable designs appeared in the Oprah magazine as one of her favorite picks. Let’s see just what else sets these apart from others on our list!

Read more

Comfort

Do you feel like you need a little pampering in your life? If you answered ‘yes’ to this question, this option from Pudus is right up your alley.

Size

This product is designed to be unisex. They will fit women in US shoe sizes 5 through 11 and men in the US sizes 6 through 10.

Materials

Ready to slip into something a little more comfortable? This option from Pudus is made from 100% acrylic material on the outermost layer. The interior is 100% polyester. Sometimes simple is just better.

Style

Channel your inner lumberjack with this adorable option. We have some great news, though. If you’re not into the lumberjack trend, there are a ton of other designs to choose from. Canadian? How about the cute red socks with white maple leaves? Cat lover? There are four different cat-themed styles for you to choose from. Prefer designs? There are snowflakes, polka dots and chevron plenty for you to peruse through.

Value

We’re not going to lie to you, the Pudus socks are one of the most expensive options on our list. But this is for a good reason. With a practically infinite number of design options to choose from, we’re certain you’ll find a sock that suits your style and will provide you with warmth and coziness you’re seeking.

6. Treehouse Knit 2 Pack

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.6
Treehouse Knit 2 Pack Slipper Socks
Treehouse Knit 2 Pack Slipper Socks
Treehouse Knit 2 Pack Slipper Socks
Amazon Link
Comfort
96
Size
92
Materials
93
Style
93
Value
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$14.99
Pros:

Fun Christmas designs

Provides a lot of warmth

Perfect for gift giving

More of a slipper than sock

Cons:

May fit smaller than expected

This adorable pair is a great choice for people who want a little Christmas spirit in their lives all year round. They’re not only going to fill you with holiday vibes whenever you wear them, but they’ll also keep you warm and cozy at the same time. Let’s see what else the Treehouse Knit option brings to the table.

Read more

Comfort

If the thought of keeping your toes cozy and toasty warm gets you going, then Treehouse Knit has your back with these. They have an extremely plush and luxurious feel when you wear them and their double layers will provide all the warmth you need.

Size

There is just one size available. This size works best for women who fall in between US shoe sizes 6 through ten or sock sizes 9 through 11.

Materials

These are made with a few different material types – polyester, acrylic, and spandex. These materials make the socks machine washable. They have a non-skid bottom which will help to provide grip.

Style

These socks are designed to fit the mid-calf of whoever is wearing them. They come in a number of different Christmas-y designs and color schemes. Whether you’re wanting something with reindeer and snowflakes or something with Santa Claus heads emblazoned on them, Treehouse Knit has a design you’ll love.

Value

The Treehouse Knit comes as a two-pack. Both pairs of socks will have a different design so you can switch it up as you see fit throughout your day. Considering you’re getting two pairs of socks for one low price, you can’t beat the value provided here.

7. Vero Monte

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.4
Vero Monte Slipper Socks
Vero Monte Slipper Socks
Vero Monte Slipper Socks
Amazon Link
Comfort
92
Size
90
Materials
93
Style
92
Value
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$19.99
Pros:

Non-slip soles

Very warm

Satisfaction guarantee

Great customer service

Plush and luxurious feeling

Cons:

Some concerns about the slipper socks staying on the feet regardless of size

With a fancy-sounding name like Vero Monte, you would expect to receive a product that screams luxury and warmth. And, well, you would be right in that expectation. The Vero Monte option is not only fashionable looking, but it is also incredibly efficient at doing their job of keeping you warm, too.

Read more

Comfort

The plush interior of these slipper socks makes them incredibly comfortable. You will love putting them on during the cooler months of the year to help warm you up on those long and cold winter nights.

Size

These come in three different size options. The smallest size is designed to fit shoe sizes 6 and 7. The medium size is designed for shoe sizes 7.5 to 8.5. The largest size available is for shoe sizes 9 and 10.

Materials

Everything about the Vero Monte slipper socks screams LUXURY. The exterior is made with 100% acrylic material and the interior 100% polyester for a soft and warm fit.

Style

The stylish cable knit look on the exterior of this option is what really sets them apart from other options on our list. We loved the thick and chunky knit exterior. It comes in 3 different and very fashionable color options – wine, purple or grey.

Value

This item is priced around the middle of the line when we compare it to other products on our list. You do receive two pairs of slipper socks for one affordable price, though, so there is a lot of value provided here.

8. Snoozies Two-Tone Fleece

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.8
Snoozies Two-Tone Fleece Slipper Sock
Snoozies Two-Tone Fleece Slipper Sock
Amazon Link
Comfort
89
Size
88
Materials
89
Style
90
Value
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Grippy bottom

Fleece-lined

Affordable

Fit up to a men's size 14

Cons:

Overall durability concerns

Run slightly large

These two-tone fleece foot warmers have a bit of a Hugh Hefner-vibe. They resemble a loafer shoe and are available in four different colors. They have been rated highly for overall comfort and are many men's favorite winter house shoes.

Read more

Comfort

As with just about every option on our list, there is no support in this garment. No matter if the style is not your thing or your preferred color is not available, most everyone agrees that these are extremely comfortable. A few reviewers say that you can feel the ground underneath you, but we don’t think that that should come as any surprise.

Size

There is a size for every man here. You have the option to choose from size Small to XXL. These sizes will fit men’s shoe sizes from seven to fourteen. Some reviewers say that these foot warmers tend to run slightly large, but that there is sufficient room for a warm pair of socks. They have been pleasantly surprised to find that this garment does not shrink or lose its shape when washed.

Materials

This garment is made from polyester and features a soft sherpa fleece interior. The interior lining provides great warmth and comfort. There has been some concern about the overall durability of this item and many reviewers have reiterated the fact that they should not be worn outside. They can be thrown in the wash, preferably in a delicate bag and on a gentle cycle. The bottom of the garment has small gripping circles that make it non slip.

Style

This comfortable accessory is available in four different colors. You can choose from camel, chocolate, black, or navy. Whichever color you choose comes with the interior lining of the same color, but a lighter tone. They have the style and look of a loafer, but are less durable and much warmer.

Value

We can happily report that this garment is affordably priced. While the overall durability could be improved, this is such an affordable option that you could buy two pairs to get you through the winter months without damaging your bank account.

9. DYW

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.6
DYW Slipper Sock
DYW Slipper Sock
DYW Slipper Sock
Amazon Link
Comfort
86
Size
87
Materials
87
Style
89
Value
89
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$10.99
Pros:

Cute design options

Thick and warm

Grips on the bottom for support

Washes well (though they should be air-dried)

Cons:

Some found the grips on the outsole to be ‘lumpy’ and distracting to walk on

This pair from DYW might very well be the cutest option you’re going to see on our buying guide today. With a number of different designs to choose from, you can guarantee you’re going to find something that calls to you. But what else can the DYW foot warmers provide wearers? Let’s take a closer look.

Read more

Comfort

The fleece on the interior of these slippers is not only incredibly warm but very comfortable as well. It’ll feel like you are slipping your feet into a little cloud every time you put these on.

Size

There is just one size available. They are designed to fit most shoe sizes. Women whose feet fall between US shoe sizes six and 10 should have no problem fitting into this option comfortably.

Materials

This high-quality option is made with 90% polyester and 10% spandex in order to provide a luxurious feel that fits on your feet like a glove.

Style

As we mentioned in the introduction of this product, this option is incredibly adorable. We were immediately drawn to the fox design. But if foxes don’t do it for you, you can choose from other style options like cats, baby chicks, horses, cows, unicorns, pandas, dogs or snowmen (amongst others). They are designed to fit the mid-calf area.

Value

These socks from DYW aren’t the most inexpensive option on our list, but they’re definitely not the most expensive either. We were happy with the cost of these and felt that the product provided more than enough value to warrant its price tag.

10. Tibetan Socks Fleece Lining

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.6
Tibetan Socks Fleece Lining Slipper Sock
Tibetan Socks Fleece Lining Slipper Sock
Tibetan Socks Fleece Lining Slipper Sock
Amazon Link
Comfort
86
Size
89
Materials
86
Style
89
Value
83
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$39.95
Pros:

Handmade

High-quality construction

Comfortable to wear

Great packaging

Cons:

Expensive price tag

Finally, we have reached the tenth spot in our buying guide. Though this option from Tibetan Socks is bringing up the rear, they are still a worthwhile product to consider on your hunt for the best slipper sock for you. Let’s look closer and see what sets them apart from other options on our list.

Read more

Comfort

These foot warmers are hand-knit and are able to provide wearers with that comfortable homemade feel that only garments that are hand-knit can.

Size

These are available in a number of different sizes. Be sure to check the size chart to ensure you’ll receive socks that will fit you properly.

Materials

These socks are vastly different than other options on our list in a number of ways, but their construction is truly what sets them apart. As mentioned, they are hand-knit using 100% wool materials on the shell. The interior of the slippers has a fleece lining that will provide the warmth you’re seeking. The sole is padded for additional comfort and the opening of the garment is elasticized so it can fit a number of different calf sizes.

Style

These have a very homemade look to them likely due to the fact that their hand knit. They are available in four different color schemes – purple/grey/yellow/blue, red/black/blue/white, rose gold/black/white/cream or shades of blue/white/black.

Value

We aren’t going to lie to you. These are expensive and, when we compare them to some of the other options on our list, they cost nearly three times the amount. That said, they are an extremely unique option. We loved that each garment is handmade using only the highest quality wool from New Zealand.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Comfort

Don't settle for wearing something that doesn't feel amazing!

Comfort is king when it comes to any garment like this. You don’t want to spend a cent of your money on something that is ultimately not going to feel comfortable for you to wear. There are some fabric types that just don’t jive well with some folks. If you’ve ever been delegated to the ‘scratchy blanket’ at your grandma’s house, you know exactly what I am talking about. The great news is that every single one of the products that made our top ten list is known to be comfortable.

Size

Don't get disappointed by purchasing something that doesn't come in your size.

It is very important to make sure that the garment you are investing in is going to fit you. You can pour over the socks comfort, warmth, and adorable design for hours but at the end of the day, if the product isn’t going to fit on you, there is no point in purchasing it. Some of the options on our list are a One Size Fits Most product. This is less than ideal for people who have feet that are either quite small or larger. When it comes to socks that abide by the “one size fits most” sizing regimen, they will often state that their products will fit feet within a certain size range. For example, the product from DYW is meant to fit women whose feet fall between US shoe sizes six through ten. If you happen to have a size five or 11 foot, you may not be able to purchase this product and have it fit you right. Even if you’re a size six or a size ten, you might find that that’s pushing the limit of the product, too. In these situations, we would recommend reading the reviews from current users to see how the product fit their feet. On the other hand, there are options on our list that offer more precise sizing. If you find yourself on either end of the sizing spectrum for the ‘one size fits most’ styles, you may prefer investing in socks that use a different sizing regimen for their products.

Materials

Every material type comes with its own pros and cons.

The material your new garment is made out of can often make or break the comfort level that they are able to provide. The most common material types you’re going to see on our list are acrylic, polyester, spandex, and wool. Let’s do a quick overview of each of these

Acrylic
Typically, options made with acrylic materials will also have Spandex blended in, in order to help provide a more form-fitting fit. This type of material is fairly durable and will help to wick away any sweat that may try to accumulate inside. Acrylic socks should be non-irritating and warm.

Polyester
Polyester is a durable material that will last a long time if it is taken care of right. It’s less resistant to fading, perfect for those beautifully bright and colorful options.

Spandex
You will notice right away that none of the socks on our list are made predominately with Spandex. This is because it is usually blended in with another type of material in order to provide the garment with some stretch, allowing it to fit properly on each consumer.

Wool
Though wool only made its way into one of the products on our list, we still wanted to touch base on all of its benefits. Wool is a colorfast material that will breathe with your body. It’s a perfect material choice to provide the wearer with a lot of warmth and insulation.

Style

There's something for everyone - plain, pastel, stars, stripes, cats, unicorns and everything in between!

The aesthetic look of this garment may matter a lot to you. If this is the case, you will want to choose an option that contains some of your favorite colors or design elements. We believe that there is a style option for everyone in our buying guide. Whether you only wear this garment during the winter weather, if you’re wearing them at the hospital as you recover from surgery or just around the house to keep cozy warm all year round, there is a style and design option above that will cater to your needs and expectations.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Comfort
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Size
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Style
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Flex Your Personality

There is no reason that you should feel resigned to wearing a pair of these that are just one color. Gone are the days of light pink slippers with a tiny little bow that our grandmothers used to wear. The possibilities for designs are quite infinite in today’s modern world. If you want to wear socks with Santa’s face on them, go for it. If you prefer cutesy kitty slipper socks, do it. “What about those of us who like the solid color options?” Don’t worry, there are options for you, too!

Keep ‘Em Clean

It comes as no surprise that bacteria thrive in dark, hot, and humid environments. Besides coziness, the main features of this garment is to keep your feet warm, which could cause sweating. While most of these items are made with moisture-wicking fabrics, the bacteria can still grow. To keep your foot warmers in tip-top shape, it’s a good idea to wash them every couple of months, depending on usage. Make sure to read the specific instructions for your pair, but you can usually toss them in a lingerie bag (or pillowcase) and wash them on the delicate cycle.

Other Factors to Consider

Traction

Generally speaking, your typical shoe sock does not offer much in terms of traction. There are, of course, exceptions to this rule. Socks that have grips on the bottom will offer wearers much more traction than just plain cotton or athletic styles will. While the presence or absence of grips on the bottom of the products on our list didn’t make or break our decision-making process, it may be something that will make or break it for you. If you’re notoriously wobbly on your feet or live in a house with hardwood floors, you may wish to invest in a pair of slipper socks that provide some traction so you’re not slipping and sliding around everywhere (unless, of course, you want to turn your living quarters into a water-free slip and slide, then by all means, go ahead). Though this type of sock will not provide as much traction or stability as a regular slipper would, they certainly are able to provide more than a plain ol’ white tennis sock would.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Can I wear these outside?

a:

We would recommend treating this garment as you would any regular pair of socks. While it is true that some of the products on our list are equipped with grippers on the bottom that you wouldn’t see in a regular pair of cotton socks, we still wouldn’t recommend wearing them outside. They’re all made of fabric, after all, and if you were to step in something wet you will have to let your foot warmers dry before they become comfortable to wear again afterward.

q: How do you size these?

a:

This depends entirely upon which product you are purchasing. Some options are a ‘one size fits most’ kind of deal, where your feet will need to fit inside certain shoe size perimeters in order to fit this garment properly. Others are sized similarly to conventional socks or shoe sizes.

q: Why should I buy a pair of slipper-style socks over regular slippers?

a:

This product is a lot easier to care for than regular slippers. With most options, you can throw them straight into your washing machine when they get dirty (though most will need to be air-dried in order to ensure product longevity). Some people don’t like the feeling of regular slippers but can wear slipper socks without any problems. Many people who are in the hospital for any length of the time prefer to have this product than regular slippers as they can wear them when walking around and in bed. Most people would choose not to lie in bed with slippers on as they’re just not as comfortable.

q: Are there any benefits in wearing this type of footwear?

a:

Anybody can benefit from wearing slippers when they’re at home. It is really hard on your feet to be walking around on certain kinds of flooring, especially if you have health conditions that can affect your tootsies like flat feet, pain in your arches or diabetes. Whether you have pain in your toes caused by bunions or callouses or heel pain from plantar fasciitis, investing in a pair of cozy slipper socks can help to alleviate some of your symptoms.