to top 10 table

Best Survival Kits – 2021 Edition

last updated: Dec 08, 2020

Survival kits are a must-have for anyone that has ever seriously considered a worst-case scenario. These kits are not only ideal for campers, but they are also a great tool to have on hand at home in the face of any type of natural disaster. Most come equipped with pertinent tools such as knives, fire-starters, and first aid kits that are essential to get you out of any jam, as well as food rations and clean drinking water.

Odds are, you will never actually need to use these kits, but it will provide peace of mind to know that you are prepared for just about any scenario. In this guide, we have added some of the very best survival kits that could save your life when the disaster strikes.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 12 hrs of research

icon
Eiliks
99.7/100 our score
Materials
99
Features
100
Value
100
Eiliks
Why is it better?

Affordable

Comes with a survival pen

Tools made from sturdy and high-quality materials

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Eiliks
Test Winner: Eiliks
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
13
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1,788
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
12
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
15
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
Sami Kritz
By Sami Kritz:

While carrying a survival kit may seem outrageous to some, everyone's fate will be in your hands when disaster hits. Explore our updated list of top-rated kits, including our newest addition from CCS Uncharted, the Seventy2 kit. In addition to the included tools, the backpack that holds everything can be used as a flotation device. Don't forget to vote and tell us which criterion is most important to you!

Sorting Options
Materials Features Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99.7
Materials
99 %
Features
100 %
Value
100 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.04.21)
Amazon Link
$36.99
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99
Materials
99 %
Features
100 %
Value
98 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.04.21)
Amazon Link
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98
Materials
97 %
Features
99 %
Value
98 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.04.21)
Amazon Link
$13.99
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.3
Materials
97 %
Features
98 %
Value
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.04.21)
Amazon Link
$39.99
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.3
Materials
96 %
Features
96 %
Value
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.04.21)
Amazon Link
$77.81
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.7
Materials
96 %
Features
95 %
Value
96 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.04.21)
Amazon Link
$23.99
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95
Materials
95 %
Features
95 %
Value
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.04.21)
Amazon Link
$30.99
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95
Materials
95 %
Features
95 %
Value
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.04.21)
Amazon Link
$25.99
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
Materials
94 %
Features
94 %
Value
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.04.21)
Amazon Link
$39.98
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.3
Materials
91 %
Features
92 %
Value
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.04.21)
Amazon Link

Top 10 Picks

1. Eiliks

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99.7
EILIKS Emergency Survival Kits
EILIKS Survival Gear Kit, Emergency EDC Survival Tools 24 in 1
EILIKS Survival Gear Kit, Emergency EDC Survival Tools 24 in 1
EILIKS Survival Gear Kit, Emergency EDC Survival Tools 24 in 1
Amazon Link
Materials
99
Features
100
Value
100
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$36.99
Pros:

Affordable

Comes with a survival pen

Tools made from sturdy and high-quality materials

Cons:

Some discovered that the compass is slightly off

In our opinion, it doesn't get any better than this case. It has all of the things that stranded adventurers would need to help them make the best of their surroundings whether they are lost in the woods or in the mountains. The best part about this case is that all of the materials are made from high-quality steel so that you won’t need to worry about cheap components breaking when you need them the most.

Read more

Materials
Once you open up the small black case that stores the components, you will be amazed at how many items actually fit inside. Users can expect to find tools such as an LED flashlight that clips right onto your belt, compass, a light up keychain, a swiss card, flint for making a fire, an emergency pen, and an emergency blanket.

Features
One of the most important features, in this case, is the emergency pen. This pen is made from high-quality tungsten steel, so you know it’s top quality. On one end it is able to write like a standard pen, but on the other side is a sharp blade that will be able to break glass without much pressure if you find yourself trapped in your car underwater.

What’s also great about this pack is that it also has enough room to fit an emergency blanket for those chilly nights outside.

Value
The thing we like best about the EILIKS design is that it comes in at a really affordable price point while stuffing offers tools that are very high quality. The cost of this survival kit will likely set you back about the same amount that you would spend on a large pizza that you would deliver once arriving safe and sound back home.

Summary
If you need something that will not only have all of the tools that you will need to stay safe and protected if something happens on one of your standard camping trips, the EILIKS design is something that will deliver in all areas without breaking the bank. Plus, the survival pen makes this a great thing to leave in the car if you ever find yourself trapped underwater.

2. Uncharted Seventy2

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99
Uncharted Supply Emergency Survival Backpack
Amazon Link
Materials
99
Features
100
Value
98
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Great customer service

Lightweight

Well organized

Stylish

Cons:

Only holds enough supplies for one person

Radio could be improved

This survival kit from CCS is another great set that will give you all of the tools that you will need when the chips are down. It comes in a sturdy bag that is airtight. The bag with all of its contents only weighs 11-pounds and is small enough to be able to pack along with you on long camping trips to short day treks in the mountains, and it is packed with high-quality tools that will hold up in the roughest of circumstances.

Read more

Materials
Once opened, you will reveal a myriad of tools and gear that will help you when you are trapped in the wilderness. This specific bag comes with 35 tools. Just like any good pack, this one includes a sharp and durable tactical knife, flashlight, and emergency radio. What makes this case so special is that it also comes with a few unusual items, such as a beanie, a shovel, and an emergency filtration mask.

Features
This backpack survival kit that houses all of these tools is amazing in itself. It is capable of carrying up to 48-liters and is made of a durable, waterproof tarpaulin. An added feature that isn’t included in the tool count is the fact that this pack can be used as a flotation device.

Value
This pack is priced quite high but we believe it is worth it. The whole emergency kit only weighs 11-pounds and features survival kit necessities and a few better thought out bonuses. Add this in with the stylish backpack/flotation device and there’s no second-guessing this.

Summary
For those that want something reliable that will prepare you for any situation, look no further. While this survival kit is slightly more expensive than others, it has outstanding features and some reviewers say you can re-organize the pack to make room for anything else you would like to add.

3. Emdmak

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98
EMDMAK Survival Kit Outdoor Emergency
Amazon Link
Materials
97
Features
99
Value
98
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$13.99
Pros:

Affordable

Small and compact case

Cons:

Some users feel that the case is flimsy

Reports that the compass does not work

The EMDMAK design doesn’t have the same number of features that some of the others have, but the contents that are included in this case are incredibly useful, are made from high-quality materials, and will help you survive when an emergency strikes. Plus, it comes with a few things that you might not see in other cases that you might find to be a little bit more helpful.

Read more

Materials
Do not worry, even though the contents of this survival kit are just a little different, it still comes with the same basic necessities such as a fire starter, compass, swiss chard, emergency blanket, and a flashlight.

Features
Where it differs from some of the others is with the addition of a pretty extensive multi-tool and a wire saw. The multi-tool unfolds to look like a basic set of stainless steel pliers with sharp tips, but it also does a host of other things. The handle unfolds to reveal a fish scaler, flashlight, knife, screwdriver, and cable scissors. The wire saw is unique because it is simply a long piece of wire with round handles that travelers can use to cut through just about anything.

Value
What’s great about this emergency survival kit is that it comes in at a price point that is so low that you might even want to consider getting two- one for your car and one for your camping pack. The lower price point is due to the fact that EMDMAK pack in only the things that travelers will need, and none of the extra tools that they would not use.

Summary
Users love not only how small and compact this survival kit is, but also how functional all of the components are. It’s a perfect size for users that want something that isn’t going to take up a lot of room in their pack.

4. Everlit

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.3
Everlit
Amazon Link
Materials
97
Features
98
Value
97
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$39.99
Pros:

Compact design

Quality tools

Affordable

Cons:

Larger than expected

This design from Everlit comes with all of the tools that you need in an emergency, and it comes in a compact case that stores everything very neatly. What we liked most about this design is that it comes in a tough and rugged pack that is small enough to stash in your internal frame backpack or the trunk of your car for quick and easy access. Plus, it comes in at a price point that won’t break the bank.

Read more

The pack leans more towards campers that find themselves in a tricky situation. It focuses primarily on first aid tools such as bandages, rubbing alcohol, tape, and thermal blankets. Users love that the quality of the first aid gear is made from high-quality materials that hold up well even in the wilderness.

Also included in this pack are all of the tools needed to get yourself out of a jam. It includes a sharp pocket knife, a flint started, a paracord bracelet, a tactical flashlight, a compass, and a whistle, as well as a few other necessities. These tools will help you stay safe and protected when you are far away from home.

This hit is a great choice for hikers and campers that want something that is small and compact but comes equipped with all of the necessities to keep you safe and protected when disaster strikes. We love that the quality of tools and first-aid supplies will hold up well over the years, and it is neatly organized in this durable pack.

5. Ready America

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.3
Ready America
Amazon Link
Materials
96
Features
96
Value
97
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$77.81
Pros:

Roomy pack

Emergency water included

Excellent first aid gear

Cons:

No tools included

This simple and affordable design is a great option for almost any situation. Many users pop this pack in the trunk of their car or in a closet for home preparedness, and it is small enough to toss into your backpack for your next camping adventure. It is filled with essential items and comes in at a price point that won’t break the bank.

Read more

What we liked most about this design is that it comes with a plethora of first aid essentials that will give you peace of mind in any situation. It comes with plenty of bandages, gauze, and tape to keep your wounds safe from the elements, as well as alcohol wipes and tissues.

We also like that this option comes with an emergency poncho and an emergency blanket as well when trapped in less than ideal weather conditions. The included emergency light and whistle helps to call for help. Plus, it comes with emergency water to keep you hydrated as you wait for help to come.

The best part about this kit is that it comes in a strong and durable pack that allows for extra storage for items that you need to personalize this kit to fit your specific needs. Users find this is an excellent base kit that provides extra room for personalization.

6. Kosin

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.7
Kosin
Amazon Link
Materials
96
Features
95
Value
96
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$23.99
Pros:

Small and compact

Tool-focused

Includes first aid

Cons:

Tools are very small

It’s pretty amazing the amount of gear that Kosin is able to pack into such a small pack. This tool-heavy design is perfect for campers and hikers that need to be prepared and ready for any situation. It comes with quality tools with a few extra first aid features that will keep you alive while you wait for help to come.

Read more

What users love most about this design is that it is packed into a small and compact hard-shell case. This case not only helps to protect your gear, but it also makes it easy to stash it into your pack with the read of your gear. It comes with all of the tools that you will ever need, such as a wire saw, military knife, paracord bracelet, compass, fire starter, and a host of others.

We also love that it comes with a few extra first aid tools such as alcohol wipes and bandages to help out in a pinch. The small and compact thermal blanket will help to retain body heat in cold climes and the 120-decibel tube whistle effectively calls for help.

If you are in the market for something small and compact that is tactical-tool-focused, this design from Kosin is one of your best options. It contains all of the tools you will ever need to stay alive when the chips are down and clocks in at a price point that is incredibly affordable.

7. HYSTEK

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95
HSYTEK Survival Gear Kit 11 in 1,Professional Outdoor Emergency Survival Kit
Amazon Link
Materials
95
Features
95
Value
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$30.99
Pros:

Affordable

Paracord bracelet included

Users love the quality of the gear included

Cons:

Some feel the case is a little flimsy and easy to break

Reports that the compass does not work properly

The HYSTEK design really shines in the quality of materials that are used to make up their emergency kit. Users can expect to find all of the tools that come standard in these products, and all of the components are made from really high-quality materials so that they won’t let you down when you need them the most.

Read more

Materials
You can expect to find all of the basic essentials in this pack, such as an emergency blanket, a fire started, a high-quality pocket knife, a swiss card, a compass, an emergency blanket, a survival pen, and a wire saw. The flashlight that is included takes one standard AA battery that has its one position in the case next to the light. This is important because it means that if your survival kit sits in the trunk of your car for years before you need it, you won’t have to worry about leaky batteries ruining your gear.

Features
This emergency survival kit also comes with a paracord bracelet, which can be a real lifesaver in instances where you need to utilize a very strong and durable rope.

Value
The cost of this survival kit runs pretty par for the course. It isn’t the most expensive unit out there on the market, but it is far from their least expensive as well. If you are looking for something that comes with all of the basic components and nothing else- this is well worth the price.

Summary
Sometimes you don’t want all of the extra bells and whistles (and sadly this pack doesn’t come with an emergency whistle). You just want something that has good quality tools that aren’t held back by extra components that you might not ever use. If that’s the case, the HYSTEK design is going to be a perfect fit for your needs.

8. Monoki

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95
Monoki
Amazon Link
Materials
95
Features
95
Value
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$25.99
Pros:

Compact carrying case

Complex first aid kit

Affordable

Cons:

Unable to add gear to the small pack

This design from Monoki provides users with the best of both worlds. It has a comprehensive collection of tools with a detailed first aid kit to keep you safe and protected. We love that it comes in a compact soft carrying case for easy travels, and comes in at an affordable price point.

Read more

What we loved most about this design is that it provides campers with quality tools to help them survive in the wilderness. This kit includes a flashlight, military knife, compass, paracord bracelet, scissors, along with a host of other helpful tools.

The first aid kit included in this pack is pretty comprehensive. It includes a large pack of bandaids in various sizes, alcohol wipes, gauze, tweezers, q-tips, gauze, and gloves. This first aid kit is able to effectively treat a host of cuts and scrapes that will fight off infection while out in the woods.

If you are in the market for a great tool and first aid kit hybrid, this design from Momoki is a great choice. It offers users a wide variety of tools that are made from quality materials that help them be prepared for just about any challenge out in the wilderness.

9. S.O.L.

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
SOL Survival Kit
Amazon Link
Materials
94
Features
94
Value
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$39.98
Pros:

Hard, compact case

Includes a line for fishing

Has a way to signal when in need of help

Cons:

Some users feel that the components are not made with high-quality materials

This is a great little survival kit to pack along on your next trip, it can fit into even the smallest of spaces. You can relax in any situation when carrying a kit such as this one. As it will have something to cover almost all your needs in your time of need.

Read more

Materials
Boasting an indestructible carrying case the contents of your kit will also survive the situation. Inside you will find the essentials for starting fires, a line for fishing, a compass, and much more. The smaller size allows you to easily tuck this kit into the corner of your bag.

Features
What we liked most about this case is that it comes with the addition of a sewing kit as well as a braided cord. You never know what you will need a heavy duty cord for they sure can be handy. Also included is a rescue feature that allows you to signal for help, which by the way can be seen from up to two miles away.

Value
This survival kit runs pretty par for the course. It isn’t the most expensive out there on the market, but it isn’t the least expensive as well, Generally speaking, it is just slightly more expensive than the average price of similar models that we have seen.

Summary
If you are looking for something that is simple, and small enough that it can fit in your backpack or bug out bag without taking up all that much room, we feel this would be an excellent survival kit option for any outdoor expedition.

10. Stealth Squads

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.3
STEALTH SQUADS 42 in 1 Survival Military Pouch KIT,
Amazon Link
Materials
91
Features
92
Value
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Affordable

Comes with first aid tools

Survival booklet included in case

Users love the sharp knife

Cons:

Users found compass on paracord bracelet doesn’t work

Some found the quality of some of the materials to be underwhelming

This case comes with just about everything that we have found in other packs out there on the market, although the quality of the materials used is a little less than par. However, given the affordable price point as well as the diverse array of tools provided, this is an excellent option for any outdoor adventurer.

Read more

Materials
The STEALTH SQUADS survival kit comes with all of the tools that you would need if you found yourself stranded in the woods. It includes a basic flashlight, fire starter, swiss card, emergency blanket, waterproof matches, emergency whistle, and a sturdy pocket knife.

Features
The thing we liked best about this design is that it comes with a little booklet that offers a lot of advice and tips on how to get the most out of your tools as well as using the materials that surround you in nature to keep you comfortable and fed. We also liked that it comes with first aid pieces such as bandages and alcohol wipes, and it all fits into a soft canvas case.

Value
The cost of this design runs about in the middle of the road. There are some users that find that STEALTH SQUADS prefers quantity over quality, but we feel that this is an excellent price for the tools that come in this sharp and well-made canvas case.

Summary
For outdoor adventurers that need a little bit of everything- such as tactical tools for first aid- this will be a great survival kit that will give you peace of mind when traveling far away from civilization and into the woods.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Materials

This was something important that we looked at because if the pack isn’t constructed from high-quality materials that are able to take a beating, we because suspicious of the quality of materials found on the inside. There were two distinct schools of thought when it came to the packs that these tools came in. The first design was the hard outer shell. We were more drawn to this survival kit because it would be able to take a beating and the interior components wouldn’t become damaged. Plus, it makes it a lot neater to throw into a backpack. The second design we discovered was the safe, canvas design. More often than not, the canvas was coated with a layer of waterproof materials, so you wouldn’t have to be concerned for your gear if the rains were pouring down. What we liked about the soft shells is that most of them could cinch on the outside of the backpack for easy access with their molle design, or they could be worn around the waist.

Features

Contents
Obviously, this is the most important thing that we considered when selecting the best products to make our list. There were a few things that were an absolute must, and if a product didn’t come equipped with them, we moved on to the next. Some of the things that we made sure each emergency survival kit had was a really good knife. This was by far one of the most important pieces because there are a lot of uses for a sharp knife in the middle of the woods. Another piece of gear that we couldn’t do without was a flashlight. Now, most flashlights that come in these packs typically use one AA battery, and we liked companies that have a spot to place a spare battery to ensure that you are never left out in the dark. A few of the other must-haves included things like emergency blankets, compasses, fire starters, and swiss cards.

Additional gear
We made sure to check each emergency kit to see if they brought anything new to the table. From what we gathered many companies try and stand out from the other designs by including at least one piece of gear that you might not find with other survival kits. One of our favorite additions was the emergency pen. It might be a rare occurrence that you would ever find yourself trapped underwater in your car with no way out, but with the addition of one of these pens, you will be able to break and glass and escape without using that much pressure. We also really liked items such as a wire saw because they weigh almost nothing, but they are able to cut through almost anything if you have the time and the patients. Another feature we liked that was offered in a few survival kits was the addition of fishing gear. Some companies offered a few basic hooks and lures that could either be fastened to the end of a paracord bracelet, or a fishing line that is included with the case.

Value

Our thoughts on the matter are that when it comes to your well being and safety, one should spare no expense. However, we also understand that it can sometimes be a little difficult to spend the extra money on something that you may not ever need. You might even think that buying the cheapest version might be the better option, but the last thing you want is to curse your penny-pinching in times of crisis. While we did ensure to offer up some of the more affordable options that received positive reviews, we mainly stuck to brands that were either par for the course in terms of price or were just a little bit higher. While we often like to save you a little bit of money so that you can spend more money on surfboards and climbing gear, we don’t think it is a good item to cut corners when your safety is concerned.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Features
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Food and Water

While these kits are full of useful tools, it is important to remember to add your personal touch on your survival kit. This could range from anything from an inflatable pillow to a can opener. However, food and water are two of the most important items to add to your pack. If you don't have enough room water, you may want to consider water purification tablets.

Batteries

Every so often, it's a good idea to check the batteries in your flashlight or radio. Keep a spare set if you can. Additionally, there are now solar lights that are very compact and can be charged in the sun, so you never have to worry about dead batteries and you'll still have light.

Other Factors to Consider

Size

If you are worried about how much room they are going to take up in your pack or in your glove box, you can rest easy because survival kits are typically pretty small. In fact, many users often complain because they feel like they are just a little bit too small. However, when you are packing for a trekking expedition, the last thing that you want taking up room in an overcrowded backpack is a case of tools that you mind not even need for the duration of your trip. If emergency kits were any larger, many campers might opt to leave them back at the care and potentially put them in a dangerous situation. If you don’t like the idea of packing survival kit inside of your backpack, there are options on the market that are made from softer canvas materials that can be affixed to your belt loop or right on the outside of your backpack. Plus, there is no need to worry about weight because almost all of these options we have selected weigh under 1 pound.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: What are some of the necessities that every pack should have equipped?

a:

There are a lot of options out there that have a wide variety of gear, and you pick which one will suit your needs better based upon where you like to travel. However, there are a few very specific tools that you need to make sure the case you decide upon has equipped. The most important option is to make sure that the survival kit has a knife. Most campers or hikes typically keep a pocket knife in their pocket even when they are shopping at a grocery store, because they know that there will be an instance throughout their day where they will need to employ the use of a sharp blade. Another thing that you want to ensure that comes with your pack is a fire starter. Sure, a flashlight will lend you a little bit of light precisely where you need it, but a fire will not only provide a little bit of light for safety, but you can also use it to cook or boil water if you need to. These fire starters are typically very easy to use and will prevent you from engaging in the frustrating task of starting a fire with just two sticks.

q: Is survival kit going to be able to fit into my bug out bag?

a:

Not only an emergency kit will fit in your bug out bag, but they will serve as an excellent addition. You never know where a disaster is going to take you, and ensuring that you have all of the right tactical gear means that your bug out bag will be prepared for basically any type of disaster that you could imagine.

q: What is a swiss card?

a:

You might have noticed that just about every option out there on the market comes with the addition of a swiss card. They might look a little bit peculiar, but they basically have the exact same function that you would find in a swiss army knife. Typically, these designs come with things such as a file, scissors, straight pin, mini ruler, and a bottle opener.

q: Do I need a paracord bracelet?

a:

Another piece of gear that you might not necessarily be familiar with is something called a paracord bracelet. Paracord refers to the material that is used to make it, and it is incredibly strong and durable. These bracelets can be a real lifesaver in an emergency because they can be unraveled to reveal a very long rope that you have been wearing right on your wrist. This rope can be used in a myriad of ways, from constructing a shelter to fishing to helping someone that may have fallen down a hole or ravine.

q: How much room do they generally take up?

a:

If you are worried about how much room survival kit is going to take up in your pack or in your glove box, you can rest easy because they are typically pretty small. In fact, many users often complain because they feel like they are just a little bit too small. However, when you are packing for a trekking expedition, the last thing that you want taking up room in an overcrowded backpack is a case of tools that you mind not even need for the duration of your trip. If they were any larger, many campers might opt to leave them back at the care and potentially put them in a dangerous situation. If you don’t like the idea of packing them inside of your backpack, there are options on the market that are made from softer canvas materials that can be affixed to your belt loop or right on the outside of your backpack. Plus, there is no need to worry about weight because almost all of these survival kits we have selected weigh under 1 pound.

q: Are the food ratios any good?

a:

Let’s just say that you won’t be digging through these kits for a snack when the pantry at home runs a little low. The food rations in these packs are designed to keep you alive when you don’t have immediate access to a source of food. They don’t taste the best, but they contain essential vitamins and nutrients to keep your body fueled while you wait for help to arrive.

q: Do the contents of my bag expire?

a:

In most cases, you buy a survival bag to stash in a backpack, trunk, or closet and then immediately forget that it exists. It is important that you check on the contents of your bag at least once every year and replace items that have expired.

Medicines such as aspirin and food rations typically have a shelf life of around 1-2 years. That’s why it is incredibly important that you check on the contents of your first aid kit and replace items that have expired, or that are quickly approaching their expiration date.

q: Can I make my own?

a:

Absolutely! You just need to ensure that you pack covers all of the bases. The great thing about pre-packed kits is that they know precisely what you will need when disaster hits. If you want to make your own, be sure that you include products that touch on all of the bases.

Hygiene, medical care, weather-preparedness, and sustenance are four of the biggest categories to consider. Be sure that you pack essentials to help heal and protect cuts and bruises, as well as food rations to keep your body fueled as you wait for help. If you live in a cooler climate, emergency blankets are essential to help hold in body heat.

When selecting a pack, we prefer waterproof backpacks and are equipped with a myriad of pockets to keep your gear organized for easy access. Your mind will likely be a little scrambled in the face of an emergency, so a neatly organized pack will help you keep your cool.

q: Where should I store my kit?

a:

Be sure that you stash your kit in a place where you have quick and easy access. If you are buying a kit to keep in your home in the face of a natural disaster (such as a tornado), storing it in the basement where you will likely be taking shelter is a great idea.

Above all else, it is essential that you store your pack in a place that is cool and dry. Many users find that the trunk of their car or a closet at home is ideal because it is free of moisture which can negatively affect your first aid kit or food rations. Just be sure you store it in a place where you remember where it is because a survival kit serves little use if you can’t find it!

Sources